NEWS

RAILS. Who we are.

RAILS is the legal response to the increasing digitalization of our modern society. RAILS is committed to the responsible development of intelligent systems. We are working on a legal framework that facilitates technical developments, avoids discrimination, ensures equal treatment and transparency, protects fundamental democratic principles and ensures that all parties involved are adequately participating in the economic results of the digitalization.

Further information

Artificial intelligence (AI) and (intelligent) robotics are changing our society. This presents legal, ethical, social and political challenges that are not yet clear at this stage. RAILS wants to address these challenges and actively shape the discussion about the current and future national and international legal framework for AI and robotics by identifying the need for regulatory action and developing concrete recommendations.

The aim is to ensure that intelligent systems are designed in a responsible way, providing a legal framework that facilitates technical developments, avoids discrimination, ensures equal treatment and transparency, protects fundamental democratic principles and ensures that all parties involved are adequately participating in the economic results of the digitalization. We are convinced that this goal can only be achieved on an interdisciplinary basis. The interdisciplinary orientation and interdisciplinary cooperation in the society’s sections is therefore of crucial importance underlining at the same time RAILS’s self-image of not being an obstacle, but rather a pioneer in shaping the future.

RAILS was founded – after a first meeting in Berlin at the beginning of 2017 – in August of the same year with headquarters in Hannover. The founding members are PD Dr. Martin Ebers, Prof. Dr. Jan Eichelberger, Prof. Dr. -Ing. Sami Haddadin, Prof. Dr. Christian Heinze, RAin Prof. Dr. Tina Krügel, Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Schwintowski, Dr. Björn Steinrötter and Prof. Dr. Arthur-Axel Wandtke.

RAILS maintains cooperations with several partners, including:

Further information will be added soon.

Executive Board

Board of Trustees

The board of trustees consists of renowned scientists and public figures. The task of the board of trustees is advisory in nature, while at the same time ensuring the quality of RAILS’ projects. Members of the Board of Trustees are:

  • Jan Philipp Albrecht (European parliament)
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Beck (Leibniz Universität Hannover)
  • Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Forgó (University Vienna)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Heinze (Leibniz Universität Hannover)
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Eric Hilgendorf (University Würzburg)
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Kilian (Leibniz Universität Hannover)
  • Prof. Dr. Mario Martini (University Speyer)
  • Prof. Dra. Susana Navas Navarro (Univers. Autonoma de Barcelona)
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim Scherer (Partner at Baker McKenzie)
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Schwintowski (Humboldt Univesität zu Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Spoerr (Partner at Hengeler Müller)
  • Prof. Dr. Artur-Axel Wandtke (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin)

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board consists of representatives from the practice. The aim is to identify current and future problems in practice and to address them in an interdisciplinary and scholarly manner.

Members of the Advisory Board are:

  • Hengeler Mueller (Contact person: Dr. Albrecht Conrad, Partner)
  • Taylor Wessing (Contact person: Dr. Axel Freiherr von dem Bussche, Partner und Dr. Tobias Schelinski, Partner)
  • Baker McKenzie (Contact person: Dr. Holger Lutz, Partner und Frau Caroline Heinickel, Counsel)
  • Streamlaw (Contact person: Dr. Benjamin Werthmann, Geschäftsführer)

Expert Groups

RAILS has currently five expert groups. Four of these groups focus on legal issues of AI and robotics. These are the Autonomous Transportation, Industrial Systems, Personal Systems and Legal Tech groups. The fifth group is a cross-section of the other sections and deals with fundamental questions of AI and robotics that affect all other sections.

Industrial Systems

The Industrial Systems division deals with the legal implications of intelligent systems in industry. This includes “Next Generation Industrial Robotics” as well as “Construction” and “Intralogistics”, resulting in an intentional intersection and cooperation with the Autonomous Transportation Group.

Legal Tech

The Legal Tech section deals with the highly variable applications of artificial intelligence and robotics in legal practice. Among other things, the main focus is on government and administrative actions through artificial intelligence, the use of artificial intelligence in case analysis and decision making, and possible applications in the area of law enforcement.

Autonomous Transportation

The Autonomous Transportation Group deals with the legal aspects of autonomous mobility and logistics.

 

The focus is not only on (liability and data protection) law issues in relation to autonomous vehicles, but includes passenger and goods transport by air, rail and sea as well as the logistical goods flows within a company (intralogistics).

Personal Systems

The Personal Systems Group looks at AI and robotics applications designed to provide individual support for people. The main areas of activity are Geriatronics, Personal Robotics, Personal Assistants and Smart Home applications.

Fundamental Issues

The Group for Fundamental Issues is an overarching section in which questions are addressed that are relevant in all sections and are therefore of a fundamental nature.

 

One example of this is the question of whether and to what extent self-learning algorithms can be controlled and to what extent the decisions made by an algorithm must be comprehensible in order to satisfy the rule of law.

BECOME A MEMBER

Are you interested in artificial intelligence and robotics and the related legal questions? Then become part of the RAILS network!

Advantages

Your advantages as a member of the RAILS:

  • RAILS offers a platform and a network for permanent contact between experts in the fields of robotics and artificial intelligence.
  • Members have the opportunity to actively participate in the further development of the legal framework for artificial intelligence and robotics, especially in the specialist sections.
  • Members have the right to vote on RAILS opinions.
  • Members have access to the internal web portal, which provides up-to-date information.
  • Members are invited to all RAILS events. As a member, you do not pay a fee for attending RAILS events.
  • RAILS offers its members training courses at significantly reduced rates.
  • Subscription to the law journal Recht innovativ (Ri) with 30 % discount
  • The membership fee is fully tax-deductible under German law as a donation for a non-profit association/special expense.

Get in touch with us!

Do you have questions about our association or a possible membership? We look forward to hearing from you!

Send message

CONTACT

Robotics & AI Law Society (RAILS) e.V.

RA Thorsten Heermann

Postal address

Gardeschützenweg 68

12203 Berlin

Germany

Bank details

  • IBAN: DE56 8306 5408 0004 0381 18
  • BIC: GENO DEF1 SLR
  • Deutsche Skatbank (VR-Bank Altenburger Land eG)

NEUIGKEITEN

RAILS. Wer wir sind.

Die RAILS ist die rechtswissenschaftliche Antwort auf die zunehmende Digitalisierung unserer modernen Gesellschaft. Die RAILS setzt sich für eine verantwortungsvolle Entwicklung intelligenter Systeme ein. Sie arbeitet an einem Rechtsrahmen, der technische Entwicklungen ermöglicht, Diskriminierungen vermeidet, Gleichbehandlung und Transparenz gewährleistet, demokratische Grundprinzipien schützt und eine angemessene Teilhabe aller Akteure an den wirtschaftlichen Ergebnissen der Digitalisierung eröffnet.

Weitere Informationen

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) und (intelligente) Robotik verändern unsere Gesellschaft. Dies birgt rechtliche, ethische, gesellschaftspolitische und soziale Herausforderungen, deren Tragweite zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt noch nicht zu überschauen ist. Die RAILS will diese Herausforderungen adressieren und die Diskussion um den gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen nationalen und internationalen Rechtsrahmen für Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) und Robotik in (rechts-)wissenschaftlicher Hinsicht aktiv mitgestalten, indem regulatorischer Handlungsbedarf identifiziert und konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen erarbeitet werden.

Ziel ist es, intelligente Systeme verantwortungsvoll zu gestalten, das heißt von Anbeginn an mit einem Rechtsrahmen zu versehen, der technische Entwicklungen ermöglicht, Diskriminierungen vermeidet, Gleichbehandlung und Transparenz gewährleistet, demokratische Grundprinzipien schützt und eine angemessene Teilhabe aller Akteure an den wirtschaftlichen Ergebnissen der Digitalisierung eröffnet. Wir sind überzeugt, dass dieses Ziel nur interdisziplinär erreicht werden kann. Die fachübergreifende Ausrichtung und interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in den Fachsektionen der Gesellschaft ist daher von entscheidender Bedeutung und unterstreicht zugleich das Selbstverständnis der RAILS, nicht als Bremsblock, sondern als Zukunftsgestalter zu fungieren.

Die RAILS ist nach einem ersten Treffen in Berlin Anfang 2017 im August desselben Jahres mit Sitz in Hannover gegründet worden. Gründungsmitglieder sind PD Dr. Martin Ebers, Prof. Dr. Jan Eichelberger, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sami Haddadin, Prof. Dr. Christian Heinze, RAin Prof. Dr. Tina Krügel, Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Schwintowski, Dr. Björn Steinrötter und Prof. Dr. Arthur-Axel Wandtke.

RAILS pflegt Kooperationen mit verschiedenen Partnern, unter anderem:

  • Recht innovativ, Rechtsanwältin Claudia Otto (Herausgeberin und Chefredakteurin)
  • MultiMedia und Recht, Anke Zimmer-Helfrich (Chefredakteurin)
  • „Institut für das Recht der Digitalisierung“, Universität Marburg (Ansprechpartner: Prof. Dr. Florian Möslein, LL.M. (London) und Prof. Dr. Sebastian Omlor, LL.M. (NYU), LL.M. Eur.)
  • Institut für Digitale Technologien (IFDT), Ansprechpartner: Dr. Kyrill Meyer
  • RAILS ist Mitglied des Advisory Boards des vom BMBF geförderten Projekts „KoBo34

Weitere Informationen werden in Kürze ergänzt.

VORSTAND

KURATORIUM

Das Kuratorium besteht aus namhaften Wissenschaftlern und Personen des öffentlichen Lebens. Die Aufgabe des Kuratoriums ist beratender Natur; zugleich soll die Qualität der Projekte der RAILS sichergestellt werden. Mitglieder des Kuratoriums sind:

  • Jan Philipp Albrecht (Europäisches Parlament)
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Beck (Universität Hannover)
  • Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Forgó (Universität Wien)
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Heinze (Universität Hannover)
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Eric Hilgendorf (Universität Würzburg)
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Kilian (Universität Hannover)
  • Prof. Dr. Giovanni Sartor (European University Institute)
  • Prof. Dr. Mario Martini (Universität Speyer)
  • Prof. Dra. Susana Navas Navarro (Univers. Autonoma de Barcelona)
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim Scherer (Partner bei Baker McKenzie)
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Schwintowski (Humboldt Univesität zu Berlin)
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Spoerr (Partner bei Hengeler Müller)
  • Prof. Dr. Artur-Axel Wandtke (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin)

BEIRAT

Der Beirat besteht aus Praxisvertretern. Ziel ist es, die gegenwärtigen und künftigen Probleme in der Praxis aufzudecken und rechtswissenschaftlich sowie interdisziplinär abzuhandeln.

Mitglieder des Beirats sind:

  • Hengeler Mueller (Ansprechpartner Dr. Albrecht Conrad, Partner)
  • Taylor Wessing (Ansprechpartner Dr. Axel Freiherr von dem Bussche, Partner und Dr. Tobias Schelinski, Partner)
  • Baker McKenzie (Ansprechpartner: Dr. Holger Lutz, Partner und Frau Caroline Heinickel, Counsel)
  • Streamlaw (Ansprechpartner: Dr. Benjamin Werthmann, Geschäftsführer)

FACHSEKTIONEN

Die RAILS hat derzeit fünf Fachsektionen. Vier dieser Fachsektionen betrachten Rechtsfragen der KI und Robotik bereichsorientiert. Dies sind die Fachsektionen Autonomous Transportation, Industrial Systems, Personal Systems und Legal Tech. Die fünfte Fachsektion bildet einen Querschnitt zu den anderen Fachsektionen und beschäftigt sich mit Grundsatzfragen der KI und Robotik, die in alle anderen Fachsektionen eingreifen.

Industrial Systems

Die Fachsektion Industrial Systems befasst sich mit rechtlichen Implikationen intelligenter Systeme in der Industrie. Hierunter fassen wir sowohl „Next Generation Industrial Robotics“ als auch „Construction“ und „Intralogistics“, wodurch sich eine intendierte Schnittmenge und Zusammenarbeit mit der FS Autonomous Transportation ergibt.

Legal Tech

Die Fachsektion Legal Tech befasst sich mit den sehr variablen Einsatzmöglichkeiten Künstlicher Intelligenz und Robotik in der Rechtsanwendung. Betrachtet werden soll hier unter anderem Regierungs- und Verwaltungshandeln durch Künstliche Intelligenz, der Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz in der Fallprüfung und Entscheidungsfindung und mögliche Anwendungsfälle im Bereich der Rechtsdurchsetzung.

Autonomous Transportation

Die Fachsektion Autonomous Transportation befasst sich mit rechtlichen Aspekten autonomer Mobilität und Logistik.

Der Fokus liegt damit nicht ausschließlich auf (haftungs- und datenschutz-)rechtlichen Fragestellungen im Zusammenhang mit dem autonomen Kraftfahrzeug, sondern schließt neben dem Personen- und Warentransport im Luft-, Schienen- und Schiffsverkehr auch die logistischen Material- und Warenflüsse innerhalb eines Betriebsgeländes (Intralogistik) ein.

Personal Systems

In der Fachsektion Personal Systems werden KI- und Robotics-Anwendungen betrachtet, die der individuellen Unterstützung von Menschen dienen. Die Tätigkeitsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich Geriatronics, Personal Robotics, Personal Assistants und Smart Home-Anwendungen.

Grundsatzfragen

Die Fachsektion Grundsatzfragen ist eine übergreifende Sektion, in der Fragen adressiert werden, die in allen Fachsektionen Relevanz haben, mithin grundsätzlicher Natur sind.

Beispiel hierfür ist etwa die Frage, ob und inwieweit sich selbstlernende Algorithmen kontrollieren lassen und inwieweit die durch einen Algorithmus getroffenen Entscheidungen nachvollziehbar sein müssen, um rechtsstaatlichen Vorgaben zu genügen.

MITGLIED WERDEN

Sie interessieren sich für Künstliche Intelligenz und Robotik und die damit im Zusammenhang stehenden rechtlichen Fragen? Dann werden Sie Teil des RAILS Netzwerks!

Vorteile

  • Plattform und Netzwerk für dauerhaften Kontakt zwischen Experten auf Gebieten der Robotik und KI
  • Möglichkeit, an der Weiterentwicklung des Rechtsrahmens für KI und Robotik aktiv mitzuwirken
  • Stimmberechtigung bei der Beschlussfassung über RAILS-Stellungnahmen
  • Zugang zum internen Webportal, auf dem aktuelle Informationen zur Verfügung gestellt werden
  • Einladung zu allen RAILS Veranstaltungen, kein Tagungsbeitrag
  • Fortbildungsmaßnahmen zu deutlich ermäßigten Tarifen
  • Bezug der Fachzeitschrift Recht innovativ (Ri) mit 30% Rabatt
  • Der Mitgliedsbeitrag ist als Spende für einen gemeinnützigen Verein/Sonderausgabe steuerlich absetzbar

SCHREIBEN SIE UNS!

Sie haben Fragen zu unserem Verein oder einer möglichen Mitgliedschaft? Wir freuen uns über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme!

Nachricht senden

KONTAKT

Robotics & AI Law Society (RAILS) e.V.

Anschrift

Robotics & AI Law Society (RAILS) e.V.

Gardeschützenweg 68

12203 Berlin

Germany

Bankverbindung

  • IBAN: DE56 8306 5408 0004 0381 18
  • BIC: GENO DEF1 SLR
  • Deutsche Skatbank (VR-Bank Altenburger Land eG)